The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada

Unit Identification

Black Watch Regiment badge

“No one shall touch me with impunity”

Army Reserve

Graphic: Joanna Gajdicar

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Phone: 514-496-1686, Ext. 241

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Find a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

We generally parade on Tuesday evenings between 7:00 pm -10:00 pm.

Who We Are

The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada, also known as the RHR or the Black Watch, is a Primary Reserve infantry regiment of the Canadian Army. The Black Watch is the oldest highland regiment in Canada. In response to the rise of American military strength during the Civil War, the Canadian government authorized the formation of militia regiments. Six Scottish chieftains in Montreal responded to the government’s call by raising an infantry company for the 5th Battalion. Eventually, eight companies would be raised for border service. Since then, thousands of Canadians have served with the Black Watch. In addition to ensuring border security, they have fought in the Boer War, WWI, WWII and the Korean War, they have bolstered NATO operations in Europe and UN peacekeeping operations worldwide, and they have provided aid to civil authorities, more recently during the ice storm in Quebec and Eastern Ontario.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commanding Officer - Lieutenant-Colonel Plourde
  • Regimental Sergeant-Major - Chief Warrant Officer Campbell

Contact Us

The Black Watch Regiment of Canada
2067 Bleury St
Montreal, QC
H3A 2K2

Phone: 514-496-1686


Major Karine Thibault, Co-ordinator of Canadian Forces Base/Area Support Unit St-Jean

An Army of Internet users in Quebec takes part in Exercise YOGA 2018

Montreal, QC — On March 8, 2018, across Quebec, members of the Defence Team and thousands of Internet users took part in Exercise YOGA 2018 – a time for relaxation and well-being. The purpose was to mark International Women’s Day while promoting the importance of physical fitness and mental health.
March 19, 2018

Brigadier-General M.A.J. (Jennie) Carignan

Military leaders must listen to cultivate innovation: Brigadier-General Jennie Carignan

Ottawa, Ontario — The Canadian Army (CA)’s Chief of Staff for Operations, Brigadier-General M.A.J. (Jennie) Carignan, says senior officers must always be open to ideas from the ranks in order to ensure the organization is as innovative as it can be.
March 1, 2018

three soldiers talking

Understanding cultural nuances saves lives in military conflicts

Twentynine Palms, California — Lieutenant-Commander Chantal Desormeaux, Gender Advisor (GENAD), was deployed to California for the joint exercise Large Scale 17. Her role was to determine the consequences that various action plans have on distinctive groups during military operations.
September 28, 2017

See more news

Our History

The official history of the Black Watch (Royal Highlander Regiment) of Canada can be found at the Directorate of History and Heritage website.

Date modified:

The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada

Identification de l’unité

Insigne du Black Watch

NEMO ME IMPUNE LACESSIT
“Personne ne m’offensera impunément”
  

Réserve de l'Armée

Graphique : Joanna Gajdicar

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’information. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre Curriculum Vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Téléphone : 514-496-1686, Ext. 241
Courriel : cgrdemandeenligne@forces.gc.ca

Ou 

Téléphone: 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous. 

Entraînement

Nous nous entraînons tous les mardis, de 19 h à 22 h.

Qui nous sommes

The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada, littéralement « La Garde noire (Régiment royal haute-terre) du Canada », abrégé en RHR et communément appelé simplement le Black Watch, est un régiment d’infanterie de la Première réserve de l'Armée canadienne. Le Black Watch est le plus ancien régiment écossais au Canada. Le gouvernement approuva la formation de régiments de la milice. Six chefs écossais montréalais répondirent à l’appel du gouvernement canadien face à l’essor de la force militaire américaine pendant la guerre civile  en formant une compagnie d’infanterie pour le 5ebataillon. Éventuellement huit compagnies furent crées pour le service aux frontières. Depuis ce temps-là des milliers de citoyens canadiens ont servis avec le Black Watch. En plus de la sécurité aux frontières canadiennes, ils ont combattu à la guerre des Boers, à la première guerre mondiale, à la deuxième guerre mondiale, à la guerre de Corée, ils ont soutenu les opérations de l’OTAN en Europe et ont vu au maintien de la paix pour les Nations Unis mondialement, ils ont fournis de l’aide aux civils, plus récemment pendant la tempête de verglas au Québec et dans l’est de l’Ontario.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel  Plourde
  • Sergent Major régimentaire : Adjudant-chef Campbell

Contactez-nous

The Black Watch Regiment of Canada
2067 rue Bleury
Montreal, QC
H3A 2K2

Téléphone: 514-496-1686

Nouvelles

Le Major Karine Thibault, Coordonnateur de la Base des Forces canadiennes/Unité de soutien de secteur St-Jean

Une armée d'internautes au Québec participe à l'exercice YOGA 2018

Montréal (Québec) — Les membres de l’Équipe de la Défense, ainsi que des milliers d’internautes, ont participé à un moment de détente et de bien-être à la grandeur du Québec le 8 mars 2018.L’exercice YOGA 2018 avait l’objectif de souligner la Journée internationale des femmes tout en promouvant l’importance d’une bonne condition physique et santé mentale.
Le 19 mars 2018

Portrait officiel du brigadier-général M.A.J. (Jennie) Carignan

Les dirigeants militaires doivent écouter pour promouvoir l’innovation : brigadier-général Jennie Carignan

Ottawa, en Ontario — Le chef d’état-major Opérations de l’Armée canadienne (AC), le brigadier-général M.A.J. (Jennie) Carignan, dit que les officiers supérieurs doivent toujours être ouverts aux idées des subordonnés pour s’assurer que l’organisation est aussi novatrice que possible.
Le 1 mars 2018

trois soldats parlant

Dans le cadre de conflits militaires, la compréhension des nuances culturelles permet de sauver des vies

Twentynine Palms, California — Le capitaine de corvette Chantal Desormeaux, conseillère en matière d’égalité entre les sexes (CES), a été déployée en Californie dans le cadre de l’exercice interarmées Large Scale 17. Son rôle était de déterminer les conséquences qu’entraînent les différents plans d’action sur les groupes distinctifs pendant les opérations militaires.
Le 28 septembre 2017

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

Vous pouvez trouver l'histoire officielle du Black Watch (Royal highland Regiment) of Canada sur le site web de la Direction - Histoire et patrimoine.

Date de modification :