Governor General's Foot Guards

Unit Identification

Governor General's Foot Guards crest

CIVITAS ET PRINCEPS CURA NOSTRA

"Our country and ruler are our concern"

Location

Cartier Square Drill Hall
2 Queen Elizabeth Drive
Ottawa, ON K1A 0K2

Cartier Square Drill Hall

Cartier Square Drill Hall

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Email: GGFG.Recruiting@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Find a Recruiting Centre near you.

When We Train

September to June:

  • Tuesday evenings
  • 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Who We Are

Established on June 7th, 1872, the Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) is the senior reserve infantry regiment in Canada. Located in Ottawa at the Cartier Square Drill Hall, the Regiment is a primary reserve infantry unit and our members are part-time soldiers who serve Canada. Comprised of over 200 soldiers and officers, the Foot Guards have three companies and a band. The three companies are divided by function; a Rifle Company, a Training Company and a Support Company. The Foot Guards have been a fixture in the national capital for over 140 years providing a functional and ceremonial presence throughout the Ottawa area.

Our Roles As Infantry Soldiers

At the core of our unit, we are infantry reserve soldiers who train part-time and full-time for domestic and international missions. This involves training for domestic operations like the 1998 Ice Storm where the unit deployed to help the citizens of Ontario recover from a national disaster. It also involves training for international operations and support to the Regular Force in countries such as Haiti, Afghanistan and Sudan, where troops from our regiment have deployed in recent years.

Our Ceremonial Role

As Guards, we share a close connection to the Governor General and participate in ceremonies in the Ottawa area. The Regiment has conducted the ceremony on Parliament Hill and at Rideau Hall for over 40 years. Our full dress uniform, with the scarlet tunic and bearskin hat, is immediately recognizable and one of the two uniforms worn by the ceremonial guard during the summer. The Ceremonial Guard, while a separate unit of from the GGFG, promulgates the traditions of the “guards regiments” and as such is supported by the GGFG in the summer.  In addition to this excellent opportunity for full-time summer employment, our ceremonial duties also take place throughout the year.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commanding Officer: Lieutenant-Colonel Chris Lynam, CD, AdeC
  • Regimental Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer Guy Doucette, CD

Contact Us

Governor General's Foot Guards
Cartier Square Drill Hall
2 Queen Elizabeth Drive
Ottawa, ON K1A 0K2

Phone: 613-990-6605
Email: GGFG_OR@forces.gc.ca

Hours of Operations:
Monday to Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday Evenings (Sept – Jun): 6:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

News

Lieutenant Kevin Little instructs an infantry soldier

Infantry members hone mortar skills at Canadian Forces Base Shilo

Shilo, Manitoba — It’s not often you see infantry milling about the gunline at Canadian Forces Base Shilo in Manitoba, but that’s exactly what was going on during a three-week mortar detachment member course run in June 2018 by 1st Regiment, Royal Canadian Horse Artillery (1 RCHA).
September 27, 2018

Private Hillary Warford

A summer of success – Full-time Army Reserve employment program attracts more job-seekers than projected

The summer of 2018 featured the inaugural run of the Canadian Army’s Full-time Summer Employment (FTSE) Program. Open to Reservists in their first four years of service, the program offered guaranteed summer employment and enjoyed great success, with 4,400 Reservists from across Canada accepting an offer; a return that exceeded projections.
September 13, 2018

Corporal Scott Sargent (far left) training with fellow members of the Calgary Highlanders

Joined at 40, Corporal Scott Sargent proves his mettle to younger generation

Calgary, Alberta — Military service is something many of us would put near the top of any list of things best-suited to the young, but one Canadian Army Reservist shows that age is less relevant than ability.
September 5, 2018

See more news

Our History

On June 7th, 1872, Her Majesty Queen Victoria approved Militia General Order 16, authorizing the formation of a Battalion of Foot Guards in Ottawa. This battalion was to have the same precedence and status in the Active Militia as held by Her Majesty’s Foot Guards in the Imperial Army. The regiment was to be known as the Governor General’s Foot Guards. Since 1879, the Regiment has been headquartered at the Cartier Square Drill Hall.

To this day, the Governor General’s Foot Guards remains the senior reserve infantry regiment in Canada. An iconic national institution, the Regiment has conducted the Changing of the Guard ceremony on Parliament Hill and at Rideau Hall for over 40 years. While the scarlet tunics and bearskin caps are the public face of the Regiment, it is first and foremost a primary reserve combat arms unit, trained to support Canada’s defence interests domestically and abroad.

Members of the Regiment took part in the Nile Expedition of 1884 and the following year provided a company of sharpshooters to quell the North West Rebellion, where the Regiment suffered its first two casualties. The Regiment has served in the South African War and in both the First and Second World Wars. In the intervening years, members have participated in numerous United Nations and NATO operations, including service in the Middle East, Cyprus, Somalia, the Former Republic of Yugoslavia, Haiti, Ethiopia, Sierra Leone, Sudan and Afghanistan. Currently the GGFG supports Op ATTENTION, which is Canada’s training assistance mission for NATO’s International Security Assistance Force in Afghanistan.

The Regiment maintains a robust domestic response capability, deploying soldiers to the 1997 Manitoba Floods and a full company to the 1998 Ice Storm. The Regiment also supports planned domestic operations, having contributed significantly to Op CADENCE 2010 (G8/G20). The Regiment has also plays a major role in 33 Territorial Battalion Group (TBG). The TBG is a composite organisation comprised of all units within 33 Canadian Brigade Group and it is designed to respond to a wide variety of short-notice domestic operations. From December 2006 to April 2009 and again from April 2010 to September 2012, the Regiment was assigned the role as lead unit.For service on active duty, members of the Regiment have been awarded over 500 decorations, including 3 Victoria Crosses. Twenty two of the Regiment’s 34 Battle Honours are emblazoned on both the Regimental and Queen’s Colours.

Date modified:

Governor General's Foot Guards

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du Governor General's Foot Guards

CIVITAS ET PRINCEPS CURA NOSTRA

« Supportons l'état et son chef »

Qui nous sommes

Mis sur pied le 7 juin 1872, le Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) constitue le plus ancien régiment d’infanterie de la Réserve du Canada. Logé au Manège militaire de la place Cartier à Ottawa, le Régiment est la principale unité d’infanterie de la Réserve, et ses membres servent le Canada à temps partiel. Il compte plus de 200 soldats et officiers et est constitué de trois compagnies et d’une Musique. Les trois compagnies, divisées par fonction, sont : la compagnie de carabiniers, la compagnie d’instruction et la compagnie d’appui. Depuis plus de 140 ans, le GGFG fait partie du paysage de la capitale nationale, assurant une présence fonctionnelle et cérémonielle dans toute la région d’Ottawa.

Nos rôles à titre de soldats d’infanterie

Le GGFG est constitué essentiellement de soldats de la Réserve de l’infanterie qui s’entraînent à temps partiel et à temps plein en vue de participer à des missions nationales et internationales. Il peut donc intervenir sur la scène nationale, comme lorsqu’il s’est déployé après la tempête de verglas de 1998 pour aider la population de l’Ontario à se remettre de la catastrophe. Il peut aussi participer à des opérations internationales et d’appui à la Force régulière, comme il l’a fait récemment dans des pays comme Haïti, l’Afghanistan et le Soudan.

Notre rôle cérémoniel

En tant que gardes, nous entretenons un lien étroit avec le gouverneur général et participons aux cérémonies qui ont lieu dans la région d’Ottawa. Le Régiment organise la cérémonie de la Relève de la garde sur la Colline du Parlement et à Rideau Hall depuis plus de 40 ans. Notre uniforme de cérémonie, composé de la tunique rouge et du bonnet à poil, est facilement reconnaissable et est l’un des deux uniformes portés par la Garde de cérémonie pendant l’été. La Garde de cérémonie, bien qu’elle soit une unité distincte du GGFG, perpétue la tradition des « régiments de la garde » et, comme telle, est soutenue par le GGFG pendant l’été. En plus de représenter une excellente occasion d’emploi à temps plein pendant l’été, elle poursuit ses tâches cérémonielles tout au long de l’année.

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’informations! Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre curriculum vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Courriel: GGFG.Recruiting@forces.gc.ca

Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité : mardi soir (septembre à juin) : de 18 h 30 h à 22 h

Liens connexes

Équipe de commandement

Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Chris Lynam, CD, ADC

Sergent-major : Adjudant‑chef Neal Porter, CD

Notre histoire

Le 7 juin 1872, Sa Majesté la Reine Victoria approuve l’ordre général 16 de la milice, autorisant ainsi la mise sur pied d’un bataillon de Foot Guards à Ottawa. Ce bataillon devait avoir la même préséance et le même statut dans la milice active que celui des Foot Guards de Sa Majesté dans l’Armée impériale. Devenu régiment, il est désormais connu sous le nom de Governor General’s Foot Guards. Depuis 1879, le quartier général du Régiment est basé au Manège militaire de la place Cartier.

À ce jour, le Governor General’s Foot Guards est le plus ancien régiment d’infanterie de la Réserve du Canada. Institution nationale emblématique, le Régiment effectue la cérémonie de la Relève de la garde sur la Colline du Parlement et à Rideau Hall depuis plus de 40 ans. Le Régiment, bien connu du public pour ses tuniques rouges et ses bonnets à poil, est avant tout une unité d’armes de combat de la Première réserve, dont l’instruction vise le soutien des intérêts militaires au pays et à l’étranger.

Les membres du Régiment participent à l’Expédition du Nil de 1884. L’année suivante, une compagnie de tireurs de précision est déployée pour réprimer la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest, dans laquelle le Régiment subit ses deux premières pertes humaines. Le Régiment sert dans la guerre d’Afrique du Sud et dans les deux guerres mondiales. Entre-temps, ses membres participent à de nombreuses opérations de l’OTAN et des Nations Unies, en l’occurrence au Moyen-Orient, à Chypre, en Somalie, dans l’ancienne République de Yougoslavie, en Haïti, en Éthiopie, en Sierra Leone, au Soudan et en Afghanistan. Actuellement, le GGFG soutient l’opération Attention, mission d’aide à l’instruction du Canada destinée à la Force internationale d’assistance à la sécurité de l’OTAN en Afghanistan.

Le Régiment maintient une solide capacité d’intervention à l’échelle nationale. Il envoie notamment des soldats au Manitoba lors des inondations de 1997 et une compagnie entière dans les régions touchées par la tempête de verglas de 1998. Il soutient la planification des opérations nationales et contribue largement à l’opération Cadence en 2010 (G8/G20). Le Régiment joue également un rôle important dans le 33e Groupe-bataillon territorial (GTT), une organisation diversifiée composée de l’ensemble des unités du 33e Groupe‑brigade du Canada et ayant pour but d’intervenir dans une grande variété d’opérations nationales à bref préavis. De décembre 2006 à avril 2009 et d’avril 2010 à septembre 2012, le Régiment s’est vu attribuer le rôle d’unité principale.En remerciement de leur service actif, les membres du Régiment ont reçu plus de 500 décorations, dont trois Croix de Victoria. Vingt-deux des trente-quatre inscriptions au drapeau du Régiment ornent aussi bien celui du Régiment que celui de la Reine.

Équipement

Pour des informations sur les véhicules et les armes utilisés par l'Armée canadienne, visitez notre page d'équipement.

Contactez-nous

Governor General's Foot Guards
Manège militaire de la place Cartier
2, promenade Reine Elizabeth
Ottawa, ON K1A 0K2

Téléphone : (613) 990-6605

Courriel : GGFG_OR@forces.gc.ca

Heures de bureau

Du lundi au vendredi : de 8 h à 16 h
Mardi soir (septembre à juin) : de 18 h 30 à 22 h

Demandes de site Web

Cette page est maintenue par le représentant du BPR de la 4e Division du Canada pour le Web.

Date de modification :