The Governor General's Horse Guards

Unit Identification

The Governor General's Horse Guards crest

NULLI SECUNDUS

"Second to none"

Army Reserve

Graphic: Joanna Gajdicar

 

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: Sergeant Jesus Castillo
Phone: 416-633-6200 Ext 4336
Email: Jesus.Castillo@forces.gc.ca

Phone: 416-200-ARMY (2769)
Email: 32CBGRecruiting@forces,gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Contact a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

Unit Parade Night: Tuesday evenings 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

Weapons:

Vehicles:

See a complete list of Weapons and Vehicles.

Who We Are

The Governor General's Horse Guards (GGHG) is Canada’s Senior Reserve Armoured Regiment located at The LCol George Taylor Denison III Armoury in Toronto. The Regiment is part of 32 Canadian Brigade Group, a Primary Reserve formation of the Canadian Army.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commander: Lieutenant-Colonel Scott M. Duncan, CD
  • Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer Dave W. Munroe, CD

Contact Us

The Governor General's Horse Guards
The LCol George Taylor Denison III Armoury
1 Yukon Lane
Toronto, ON
M3K 0A1

Phone: 416-633-6200 ext 2893
Email: William.Gatrell@forces.gc.ca

Hours of Operations: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

News

Major General Hetherington, accompanied by Honorary Colonel of the Canadian Army Paul Hindo

‘Respect the Arctic environment’: Major-General Simon Hetherington

Ottawa, Ontario — Major-General Simon Hetherington, Commander of the Canadian Army Doctrine and Training Centre (CADTC), based in Kingston, Ontario, intended to spend a whirlwind weekend in Resolute Bay in late February, 2018 to observe Arctic training going on there – but the “whirlwind” was almost replaced by a blizzard that would have prolonged his stay.
April 13, 2018

32 Service Battalion members

Canadian Army Reserve trucking trainees go international

Toronto, Ontario — A new milestone has been reached in an initiative to train Canadian Army (CA) Reservists in long-distance trucking: a United States border crossing.
April 3, 2018

Members of the Influence Activities Task Force

Multi-national exercise: Influencing through joint cooperation

Nienburg, Germany — Working with soldiers from 23 other NATO countries, a group of Canadian Army soldiers from the 5th Canadian Division Influence Activities Task Force (IATF) participated in Exercise JOINT COOPERATION 17, in Nienburg, Germany in the fall of 2017 to enhance expertise and compare best practices in civil-military relations.
March 27, 2018

See more news

Our History

The Governor General's Horse Guards is a reserve regiment of volunteer citizen soldiers whose illustrious history dates from 1822 when Capt. G.T. Denison formed a Troop of Dragoons for a local militia infantry battalion. The Denison family, from the town of Weston, commanded and financed the Troop for many generations. In 1839, the Troop became independent of its parent infantry battalion and was named the Governor General's Body Guard (GGBG) in 1866. George Taylor Denison III expanded the Troop to a Squadron in 1876 and to a Regiment in 1889. Canada's oldest cavalry troop, the Markham (Button's) Troop, formed in 1810, was one of the troops amalgamated into the Body Guard to form the Regiment. Today the Regiment proudly perpetuates the history of Button's Troop that had served so well in General Brock's Army during the War of 1812.

The Governor General's Body Guard served in most of the major Canadian conflict of the 19th entury. Both Denison's Troop and Button's Troop were on active service during the 1837 Rebellion and re-titled the Queen's Light Dragoons for their good service. Denison's troop of some sixty volunteers continued to parade during the 1840's and 1850's maintaining an unbroken lineage. In 1866, the troop mobilized to defend Canada from the American Irish Republican Army during the Fenian Raids. The Troop, acting as the advance guard for the Canadian Brigade, chased the Fenian Army from the Niagara Frontier and the town of Fort Erie taking many prisoners. The GGBG, as a Squadron, served as rear area security in the Riel Rebellion which earned their first battle honour; The Northwest Rebellion 1885. During the Boer War, (1899) the GGBG supplied volunteers to the Canadian Contingent where one of its members, Capt H.Z.C. Cockburn, earned the Victoria Cross and three others Mentioned in Dispatches.

Read more of our history.

Date modified:

The Governor General's Horse Guards

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du The Governor General's Horse Guards

NULLI SECUNDUS

« Toujours premier, jamais second »

Reserve de l'Armée

Graphique : Joanna Gajdicar

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’informations. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre curriculum vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom : Sergent Jesus Castillo
Téléphone : 416-633-6200, Ext. 4336
Courriel : Jesus.Castillo@forces.gc.ca

Téléphone : 416-200-ARMY (2769)
Courriel : 32CBGRecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité : mardi soir de 19 h à 22 h.

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Armes :

Véhicules :

Voir la liste complète des armes et véhicules.

Qui nous sommes

The Governor General's Horse Guards est le régiment blindé de réserve sénior du Canada hébergé au manège militaire LCol George Taylor Denison III à Toronto. Il fait partie du 32e Groupe-brigade du Canada (32 GBC), une formation de la Première réserve de l'Armée canadienne.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Scott M. Duncan, CD
  • Sergent-major : Adjudant-chef Dave W. Munroe, CD

Contactez-nous

The Governor General's Horse Guards
Manège militaire LCol George Taylor Denison III
1 ruelle Yukon
Toronto, ON
M3K 0A1

Téléphone : 416-633-6200, Ext. 2893
Courriel : William.Gatrell@forces.gc.ca

Heures de bureau : Du lundi au vendredi de 8 h à 16 h

Nouvelles

Le sergent Cheryl Crispin (alors soldat) s’exerce avec son fusil de service

Devenir technicienne en approvisionnement à 40 ans, pour une carrière à la fois stable et excitante

Ottawa (Ontario) — Vous avez tout ce qu’il vous faut : votre équipement, votre carburant et vos rations? C’est grâce à votre technicien en approvisionnement.
Le 23 avril 2018

Le major-général Hetherington, accompagné du colonel honoraire de l’Armée canadienne Paul Hindo

« Respectons l’Arctique » : Major-général Simon Hetherington

Ottawa, en Ontario — Le major-général Simon Hetherington, commandant du Centre de doctrine et d’instruction de l’Armée canadienne (CDIAC), situé à Kingston (Ontario), avait l’intention de passer une fin de semaine éclair à Resolute Bay à la fin février 2018 en vue d’observer l’instruction dans l’Arctique qui s’y passait – mais « l’éclair » a presque été remplacé par un blizzard qui aurait prolongé son séjour.
Le 13 avril 2018

Des membres du 32e Bataillon des services

Des aspirants-camionneurs de la Réserve de l’Armée s’internationalisent

Toronto (Ontario) — Un nouveau jalon a été franchi dans le cadre d’une initiative visant à former les réservistes de l’Armée canadienne (AC) en camionnage longue distance : le franchissement de la frontière des États‑Unis.
Le 3 avril 2018

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

The Governor General’s Horse Guards est un régiment de la Réserve constitué de citoyens­soldats volontaires, dont l’histoire illustre remonte à 1822 lorsque le Capt G.T. Denison a formé une troupe de dragons pour un bataillon d’infanterie de la milice locale. La famille Denison, de la ville de Weston, a commandé et financé la troupe pendant de nombreuses générations. En 1839, la troupe s’est séparée de son bataillon d’infanterie d’appartenance et a reçu en 1866 le nom de The Governor General’s Body Guard (GGBG). George Taylor Denison III a agrandi la troupe pour en faire un escadron en 1876, puis un régiment en 1889. La plus ancienne troupe de cavalerie du Canada, The Markham (Button’s) Troop, créée en 1810, est l’une des troupes qui ont fusionné avec la Body Guards pour former le régiment. Aujourd’hui, le régiment GGHG perpétue fièrement l’histoire de la Button’s Troop qui avait servi si vaillamment au sein de l’armée du Général Brock durant la guerre de 1812.

The Governor General’s Body Guard a servi dans la plupart des grands conflits canadiens du 19e siècle. La troupe de Denison et celle de Button étaient en service actif durant la Rébellion de 1837 et ont reçu le titre de Queen’s Light Dragoons pour leur vaillant service durant ce conflit. La troupe de Denison, constituée de soixante volontaires, a continué de se rassembler durant les années 1840 et 1850, maintenant de ce fait un lignage ininterrompu. En 1866, la troupe s’est mobilisée pour défendre le Canada face à l’Armée républicaine irlandaise d’Amérique durant l’invasion des Fenians. La troupe, à titre d’avant-garde de la brigade canadienne, a repoussé l’armée des Fenians à la frontière du Niagara et aux limites de la ville de Fort Erie, faisant de nombreux prisonniers à ces occasions. Le GGBG, à titre d’escadron, a assuré la sécurité dans la zone arrière durant la rébellion de Riel, ce qui lui a valu ses premiers honneurs de guerre - la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest de 1885. Durant la guerre des Boers (1899), le GGBG a fourni des volontaires au contingent canadien, dont le Capt H.Z.C. Cockburn, qui a reçu la Croix de Victoria et trois autres citations à l’ordre du jour.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

Date de modification :