The Lorne Scots (Peel, Dufferin and Halton Regiment)

Unit Identification

The Lorne Scots crest

AIR SON AR DUTHCHAIS

"For Our Heritage"
   

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: Master Corporal Alex Cameron
Email: lornescotsrecruiting@gmail.com  or  32cbgrecruiting@forces.gc.ca


Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Find a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

  • Unit Administration Night (Year Round): Tuesday 7:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m. (all locations)
  • Unit Parade Night (September to June): Thursday 7:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m. (all locations)
  • Pipes and Drums Band (September to June): Tuesday 7:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m. (Georgetown)

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

 Vehicles:

  • Light Utility Vehicle Wheeled Militarized Commercial Off-The-Shelf (MilCOTS)
  • Medium Support Vehicle System (MSVS)
  • Light Over Snow Vehicle (LOSV)

Weapons:

See a complete list of Vehicles and Weapons.

Who We Are

The Lorne Scots is an Infantry Regiment in the Army Reserve with companies in Brampton, Georgetown and Oakville, Ontario.

 As the Army’s primary war-fighters and the core of the combat arms team, infantry soldiers are responsible for closing with and destroying the enemy. Supported by the artillery, regiments of armour and the combat engineers, infantry soldiers are capable of operating anywhere in the world in any environment - arctic tundra, mountains, jungle or desert - and in any combination of arms, including airmobile and amphibious operations. The unit also boasts an impressive Pipes and Drums Band who participates in engagements around the world.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commander: Lieutenant-Colonel Tom Ruggle, CD
  • Regimental Sergeant Major: Master Warrant Officer Matt Colbeck, CD

Contact Us

The Lorne Scots
2 Chapel St
Brampton, Ontario
L6W 2H1

Phone: 416-631-5360, Ext.7226
Email: LorneScots.PAO@forces.gc.ca

 

News

Ceremonial Guard Transfer of Command Authority to Governor General’s Foot Guards

March 27, 2018 – Ottawa – National Defence / Canadian Armed Forces
March 26, 2018

Government invests in modern facilities for Base Petawawa

December 1, 2017 – Petawawa, Ontario – National Defence / Canadian Armed Forces
December 4, 2017

a soldier with razor wire

Bangalores, Belt Buckles, and Brits: 32 Canadian Brigade Group Exercise Culminates in Company Attack

Meaford, Ontario — Approximately 200 soldiers from 32 Canadian Brigade Group, as well as visiting soldiers from the United Kingdom, participated in Exercise STEADFAST WARRIOR 2017 from August 25 to 31, held at the 4th Canadian Division Training Centre Meaford.
November 1, 2017

See more news

Our History

The Lorne Scots have been an established institution in Peel, Dufferin and Halton Counties for over 150 years. The Regiment's origin is traced to the 20th Halton and 36th Peel Battalions of Infantry, both raised in September 1866. Early lineage traces back to the War of 1812.

Both of our predecessor units were Regiments of the Line. However, their Scottish heritage was sown with the Marquis of Lornes' visit to the 20th Halton Battalion in 1879. They formed a pipe band in 1881 and started wearing tartan trews and diced glengarries. The 20th Halton Rifles became the 20th Halton Battalion, Lorne Rifles. Many of today's regimental traditions date back to this historic visit.

Today the Regiment continues our heritage of defending Canada, soldiers and officers from the Lorne Scots have participated in nearly every engagement Canada has sent troops to, including : Bosnia, Afghanistan, The Philippians, Ukraine, Jordan, Africa and even domestic operation such as the 1998 Ice Storm, the G8/G20 Toronto Conference, Arctic Sovereignty, the 2017 Quebec Floods.

Read more about our history.

Date modified:

The Lorne Scots (Peel, Dufferin and Halton Regiment)

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du The Lorne Scots

AIR SON AR DUTHCHAIS

« Pour notre patrimoine »

  

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’information. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre Curriculum Vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom : Caporal-chef Alex Cameron
Courriel : lornescotsrecruiting@gmail.com  or  32cbgrecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Ou 

Téléphone: 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous. 

Entraînement

  • Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité (Toute l'année) : mardis soir de 19:30 h à 22:30 h (tous les endroits)
  • Soirée d'administration de l'unité (septembre à juin) : jeudi soir de 19:30 h à 22:30 h (tous les endroits)
  • Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité (septembre à juin) : mardis soirs de 19:30 h à 22:30 h (Georgetown)

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Armes :

Véhicules :

  • Military Commercial Off-self (MilCOTS)
  • Système de véhicules de soutien moyen (SVSM)
  • Véhicules autoneige légers

Voir la liste complète des armes et véhicules.

Qui nous sommes

Le Lorne Scots est un régiment d'infanterie de la Réserve de l'Armée qui compte des compagnies à Brampton, à Georgetown et à Oakville, en Ontario.

L’infanterie, principale force combattante de l’Armée et élément central de l’équipe des armes de combat, a pour rôle de s’approcher de l’ennemi et de l’anéantir. Appuyés par l’artillerie, les régiments blindés et les sapeurs de combat, les soldats d’infanterie peuvent opérer partout dans le monde, peu importe l’environnement (toundra arctique, montagnes, jungle ou désert) et au sein de toute combinaison d’armes, ce qui inclut les opérations aéromobiles et amphibies. Le Lorne Scots comprend également un impressionnant corps de cornemuses qui prend part à différents engagements partout dans le monde.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Tom Ruggle, CD
  • Sergent-major régimentaire : Adjudant-maître Matt Colbeck, CD

Contactez-nous

The Lorne Scots
2 rue Chapel
Brampton, Ontario
L6W 2H1

Téléphone : 416-631-5360, Ext. 7226
Courriel : LorneScots.PAO@forces.gc.ca

Nouvelles

Transfert du pouvoir de commandement de la Garde de cérémonie au Governor General’s Foot Guards

Le 27 mars 2018 – Ottawa – Défense nationale / Forces armées canadiennes
Le 26 mars 2018

Le Gouvernement investit dans des installations modernes sur la base Petawawa

Le 1er décembre 2017 – Petawawa (Ontario) – Défense nationale/Forces armées canadiennes
Le 4 décembre 2017

un soldat avec un fil de rasoir

BANGALORE, BOUCLES DE CEINTURE ET BRITANNIQUES:

Meaford, Ontario — Environ 200 soldats du 32e Groupe-brigade du Canada (32 GBC), ainsi que des soldats britanniques en visite, ont participé à l’exercice STEADFAST WARRIOR 2017, qui s’est déroulé du 25 au 31 août au Centre d’instruction de la 4e Division du Canada, à Meaford.
Le 1 novembre 2017

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

Le Lorne Scots est une institution bien établie dans les comtés de Peel, de Dufferin et de Halton depuis plus de 150 ans. Le régiment tire son origine des 20th Halton et 36th Peel Battalions of Infantry, tous deux formés en septembre 1866. Leurs racines remontent jusqu'à la guerre de 1812.

Ces deux unités étaient des régiments de ligne. Toutefois, leur héritage écossais fut établi lors de la visite du Marquis de Lornes au 20th Halton Battalion en 1879. Les soldats mirent sur pied un corps de cornemuses en 1881 et commencèrent à porter des pantalons en tartan et des bonnets Glengarry à carreaux. Le 20th Halton Rifles devint le 20th Halton Battalion, Lorne Rifles. Beaucoup de traditions du régiment remontent à cette visite historique.

Aujourd'hui, le régiment poursuit sa mission de défense du Canada. Des soldats et des officiers du Lorne Scots ont pris part à pratiquement tous les engagements pour lesquels le Canada a envoyé des troupes, notamment, en Bosnie, en Afghanistan, aux Philippines, en Ukraine, en Jordanie, en Afrique et même ici, au Canada, lors de la tempête de verglas de 1998, de la Conférence du G8/G20 à Toronto, des opérations de souveraineté dans l'Arctique et des inondations de 2017 au Québec.

Pour en savoir plus sur notre histoire 

Date de modification :