The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry (Wentworth Regiment)

Unit Identification

The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry crest

SEMPER PARATUS

“Always ready”

Army Reserve

Graphic: Joanna Gajdicar

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: Sgt Matthews
Phone: 905-971-1742
Email: Cameron.Matthews@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Contact a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

Unit Parade Night: Tuesday evenings 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

Weapons :

Vehicles:

  • Medium Support Vehicle System (MSVS)
  • Military Commercial Off-self (MilCOTS)

See a complete list of Weapons and Vehicles.

Who We Are

The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry (RHLI) is a reserve unit of 31 Canadian Brigade Group, whose task is to augment Canada’s military with trained infantrymen and influence activities personnel.

The RHLI is looking for dedicated, fit and confident men and women with an interest in challenging training as infantry soldiers. New members in High School or University with time to work one evening a week, one weekend a month, and full-time during the summer are prime candidates. On top of infantry training, members of the RHLI have the opportunity to learn influence activity skills which includes civil-military cooperation and psychological warfare. For those interested in the psychological aspects of war, the RHLI will provide advanced training and multiple opportunities for employment.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commander: Lieutenant Colonel J.P. Hoekstra, CD
  • Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer M. Brewster, CD

Contact Us

The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry
John Weir Foote VC Armoury
200 James St. North
Hamilton, ON
L8R 2L1

Phone number 905-972-4001, Ext. 4150

News

Major General Hetherington, accompanied by Honorary Colonel of the Canadian Army Paul Hindo

‘Respect the Arctic environment’: Major-General Simon Hetherington

Ottawa, Ontario — Major-General Simon Hetherington, Commander of the Canadian Army Doctrine and Training Centre (CADTC), based in Kingston, Ontario, intended to spend a whirlwind weekend in Resolute Bay in late February, 2018 to observe Arctic training going on there – but the “whirlwind” was almost replaced by a blizzard that would have prolonged his stay.
April 13, 2018

32 Service Battalion members

Canadian Army Reserve trucking trainees go international

Toronto, Ontario — A new milestone has been reached in an initiative to train Canadian Army (CA) Reservists in long-distance trucking: a United States border crossing.
April 3, 2018

Members of the Influence Activities Task Force

Multi-national exercise: Influencing through joint cooperation

Nienburg, Germany — Working with soldiers from 23 other NATO countries, a group of Canadian Army soldiers from the 5th Canadian Division Influence Activities Task Force (IATF) participated in Exercise JOINT COOPERATION 17, in Nienburg, Germany in the fall of 2017 to enhance expertise and compare best practices in civil-military relations.
March 27, 2018

See more news

Our History

Established on December 11th, 1862 as the 13th Battalion Volunteer Militia, the RHLI is the oldest infantry regiment in the Hamilton-Burlington area. The RHLI has been present in every Canadian military campaign and the history of the Regiment reflects the history of the nation it serves. “Rileys”, as they are known, were present at the Battle of Ridgeway during the Fenian Raids, the Red River uprising and the Boer War. In both World Wars, Rileys distinguished themselves, and members also served in Korea. Rileys have also served in the former Republic of Yugoslavia, Kuwait, The Congo, Sierra Leone, Haiti and Afghanistan.

The official history of The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry (Wentworth Regiment) can be found on the Directorate of History and Heritage website.

Date modified:

The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry (Wentworth Regiment)

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry

SEMPER PARATUS

« Toujours prêt »

Endroit

Manège militaire John Weir Foote, V.C.

200, rue James Nord
Hamilton (Ontario) 
L8R 2L1

_____

Reserve de l'Armée

Graphique : Joanna Gajdicar

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’informations. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre curriculum vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom : Sgt Matthews
Téléphone : 905-972-4001, Ext. 4168
Courriel : Cameron.Matthews@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité : mardi soir de 19 h à 22 h.

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Armes :

Véhicules :  

  • Système de véhicules de soutien moyen (SVSM)
  • Military Commercial Off-self (MilCOTS)

Voir la liste complète des armes et véhicules.

Qui nous sommes

The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry (RHLI) est une unité de la Réserve du 31e Groupe-brigade du Canada, dont le mandat consiste à augmenter les effectifs de l’Armée canadienne en leur fournissant des fantassins entraînés et du personnel des activités d’influence.

Le RHLI recrute des femmes et des hommes dévoués, en bonne condition physique et sûrs d’eux, qui manifestent de l’intérêt à recevoir de l’instruction stimulante en tant que soldats d’infanterie. Les principaux candidats sont les étudiants du secondaire ou de l’université qui sont en mesure de travailler un soir par semaine et une fin de semaine par mois, et à temps plein pendant l’été. En plus de l’instruction de fantassins, les membres du RHLI ont l’occasion d’acquérir des compétences en matière d’activités d’influence, ce qui comprend la coopération civilo-militaire et la guerre psychologique. Pour les personnes intéressées par les aspects psychologiques de la guerre, le RHLI offrira une instruction avancée et des occasions d’emploi multiples.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel J.P. Hoekstra, CD
  • Sergent-major : Adjudant-chef M. Brewster, CD

Contactez-nous

The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry
Manège militaire John Weir Foote, V.C.
200, rue James Nord
Hamilton (Ontario)
L8R 2L1

Téléphone : 905-972-4001, Ext. 4150

Nouvelles

Instruction collective durant l’exercice FROZEN GUNNER

Des unités de la Régulière et de la Réserve s’entrainent ensemble

Shilo (Manitoba) — J’ai participé à plusieurs exercices de tir au canon durant ma carrière, mais c’était la première fois que j’allais voir les « gros canons » à l’œuvre.
Le 4 juin 2018

Des pompiers de la 5e Division du Canada

L’équipe de l’aménagement forestier de Gagetown réduit les risques d’incendie

Oromocto, Nouveau-Brunswick — Les résidents d’Oromocto, au Nouveau-Brunswick, ont angoissé, à juste titre, à l’automne 2017 lorsque trois foyers d’incendie ont ravagé plus de 1 200 hectares du champ de tir et secteur d’entraînement (CTSE) près de la Base de soutien de la 5e Division du Canada Gagetown (BS 5 Div CA).
Le 1 juin 2018

le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja, Ukraine, à Starychi (Ukraine)

Les racines d’un capitaine d’infanterie partent de son régiment et s’étendent jusqu’en Inde

Hamilton (Ontario) — Le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja accorde beaucoup d’importance à ses origines sud-asiatiques. Ces dernières lui servent de base de référence et lui procurent un sentiment de fierté dans le cadre de son rôle dans la Réserve de l’Armée canadienne (Rés AC).
Le 28 mai 2018

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

Mise sur pied le 11 décembre 1862 en tant que 13th Battalion Volunteer Militia, le RHLI est le plus vieux régiment d’infanterie de la région d’Hamilton et de Burlington. Le RHLI a participé à toutes les campagnes militaires canadiennes, et son histoire reflète celle de la nation qu’il sert. Les « Rileys », comme on les appelle, étaient présents lors de la bataille de Ridgeway pendant les raids des Féniens, lors de la Rébellion de la rivière Rouge et lors de la guerre des Boers. Les Rileys se sont distingués durant les deux guerres mondiales. Ils ont aussi servi en Corée ainsi que dans l’ancienne République fédérale de Yougoslavie, au Kuwait, au Congo, en Sierra Leone, en Haïti et en Afghanistan.

On peut lire l’histoire officielle du Royal Hamilton Light Infantry (Wentworth Regiment) sur le site Web de la Direction – Histoire et patrimoine.

Date de modification :