The Royal Westminster Regiment

Unit Identification

The Royal Westminster Regiment Badge

PRO REGE ET PATRIA
For King and Country

Army Reserve

Graphic: Joanna Gajdicar

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: Cpl J.T. Wiens
Phone: 604-666-4282
Email: Recruiting.RWestmr@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Contact a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

Unit Parade Night: Wednesday evenings 7:00 p.m. – 10:30 p.m. in New Westminster and Chilliwack, B.C.

Who We Are

The Royal Westminster Regiment is a Primary Reserve light infantry unit of the Canadian Armed Forces. The Regimental Headquarters and A Coy are based in New Westminster, B.C. and D Coy is located in Chilliwack, B.C.

The Regiment can trace its heritage back to the formation of the New Westminster Volunteer Rifle Company in 1863.  The Regiment and its perpetuated units served with distinction in the World Wars and it has subsequently contributed to NATO and UN Operations including in the Former Yugoslavia and Afghanistan, and domestic aid to civil power in cases of emergency.

The infantry is the backbone of the Canadian Army, and their role is to “close with and destroy the enemy, by day or by night, in all weather conditions and terrain.” As part of the Primary Reserve, the Regiment augments and supports the Regular Force in whatever capacity needed.

Fast and flexible in combat, light infantry soldiers are capable of performing various operations including airmobile, amphibious, and environmental operations in the Arctic, the mountains, or the desert. Infantry soldiers are highly trained, dependable, and self-disciplined individuals who are able to readily adapt to dynamic situations and environment.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commanding Officer: Lieutenant-Colonel C.W. MacKinnon, CD
  • Regimental Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer M.W. Bergan, CD

Contact Us

The Royal Westminster Regiment
530 Queens Avenue
New Westminster, BC
V3L 1K3
Phone: 604-666-4374

News

Corporal Kory Fraser

Supply Technicians in short supply: Corporal Kory Fraser on why it’s a great job

Edmonton, Alberta — Always “magically getting things,” Supply Technicians are the logistical wizards of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF).
July 27, 2018

Honorary LCol Albert El Tassi,

Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel Albert El Tassi proudly wears the uniform and helps make it, too

Winnipeg, Manitoba — For the Royal Winnipeg Rifles’ Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel (HLCol) Albert El Tassi, a strong rapport with members is the reason why he continues to work closely with the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF). HLCol El Tassi’s connection with troops is so strongly engrained because of his philanthropic efforts in support of CAF families as well as in his working life as his company makes the CADPAT (Canadian Disruptive Pattern) uniforms that the members wear.
July 13, 2018

Chief Warrant Officer Ramsay Bellisle talks with Sergeant Nathan Hedin

Canadian Army Reservists head to South Dakota for joint training

Rapid City, South Dakota — With positions on international military training exercises in short supply for Canadian Army Reservists, 59 members of 38 Canadian Brigade Group (38 CBG) jumped at the chance to attend Exercise GOLDEN COYOTE 2018 (Ex GC18).
June 28, 2018

See more news

 History

This Reserve Force regiment originated in New Westminster, British Columbia on April 1,  1910, when the 104th Regiment was authorized to be formed.  It was redesignated the 104th  Regiment Westminster Fusiliers of Canada on December 15, 1913.  On March 12,  1920, it was amalgamated with the 6th Regiment The Duke of Connaught's Own,  Rifles to form the 1st British Columbia Regiment.  It was redesignated the 1st British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own) on November 1, 1920. On  May 15, 1924, it was reorganized into three separate regiments, designated:  1st British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own) (now the British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own); The Vancouver Regiment (now The British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own); and The Westminster Regiment.  On  December 15,  1936, it was amalgamated with C Company of the 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC and redesignated The Westminster Regiment (Machine Gun).  It was redesignated: The Westminster Regiment (Motor) on April 1, 1941; 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Westminster Regiment (Motor) on November 7, 1941;  The Westminster Regiment (Motor) on  January 31,  1946;  The Westminster Regiment on October 6, 1954; and The Royal Westminster Regiment on December 9, 1966.

Continue reading The Royal Westminster Regiment.

Date modified:

The Royal Westminster Regiment

Identification de l'unité

The Royal Westminster Regiment badge

PRO REGE ET PATRIA
Pour le roi et la patrie

Reserve de l'Armée

Graphique : Joanna Gajdicar

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’informations. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre curriculum vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom : Cpl J.T. Wiens
Téléphone : 604-666-4282
Courriel : Recruiting.RWestmr@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité : mercredi soir (de septembre à juin), de 19 h à 22h30.

Qui nous sommes

Le Royal Westminster Regiment est une unité d’infanterie légère de la Première réserve des Forces armées canadiennes. Le Quartier général régimentaire et la Cie A sont situés à New Westminster, en C.-B., et la Cie D est située à Chilliwack, en C.-B.

L’histoire du Régiment remonte à la création du New Westminster Volunteer Rifle Company, en 1863. Le Régiment et ses unités qui se perpétuent ont servi avec distinction durant les Guerres mondiales et ont subséquemment contribué aux opérations de l’OTAN et de l’ONU, notamment en ex-Yougoslavie et en Afghanistan, et en apportant une aide nationale au pouvoir civil en cas d’urgence.

L’infanterie est la pierre angulaire de l’Armée canadienne et son rôle consiste à « s’approcher de l’ennemi pour le détruire, le jour ou la nuit, dans toutes les conditions météorologiques et sur tous les terrains. » Dans le cadre de la Première réserve, le Régiment soutient la Force régulière en offrant l’aide qu’il faut.

Rapides et souples dans le combat, les soldats d’infanterie légère possèdent les capacités nécessaires pour mener différentes opérations, notamment des opérations aéromobiles, amphibies et environnementales dans l’Arctique, dans les montagnes ou dans le désert. Les soldats d’infanterie sont des personnes hautement qualifiées, fiables et autodisciplinées qui sont capables de s’adapter rapidement à des situations et à un environnement dynamiques.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant - Lieutenant-colonel C.W. MacKinnon, CD
  • Sergent-major régimentaire - Adjudant-chef M.W. Bergan, CD

Contactez nous

The Royal Westminster Regiment
530 avenue Queens
New Westminster, BC
V3L 1K3
Téléphone : 604-666-4374

Nouvelles

Le caporal Kory Fraser

Pénurie de techniciens en approvisionnement : une profession de choix, selon le caporal Kory Fraser

Edmonton (Alberta) — Avec les techniciens en approvisionnement, véritables sorciers de la logistique des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC), les choses se font « comme par magie ».
Le 27 juillet 2018

Le Lieutenant-colonel honoraire Albert El Tassi

Le lieutenant-colonel honoraire Albert El Tassi porte l'uniforme et aide à le faire aussi

Winnipeg, Manitoba — Pour le lieutenant-colonel honoraire Albert El Tassi des Royal Winnipeg Rifles, un solide répertoire avec les membres est crucial à la raison pour laquelle il continue à travailler en étroite collaboration avec les Forces armées canadiennes (FAC). Les liens du Lcol(h) El Tassi avec les soldats sont si solidement ancrés dans ses démarches philanthropiques et professionnelles puisqu’il fabrique les uniformes DCamC (dessin de camouflage canadien) que portent les membres. 
Le 13 juillet 2018

L’adjudant-chef Ramsay Bellisle discute avec le First Sergeant Nathan Hedin de la 842nd Engineering Company de la South Dakota Army National Guard

Des réservistes de l’Armée canadienne se rendent au Dakota du Sud pour un entraînement interarmées

Rapid City, Dakota du Sud — Avec un manque de personnel pour des postes lors d’exercices d’entraînement militaire internationaux pour les réservistes de l’Armée canadienne, 59 membres du 38e Groupe-brigade du Canada (38 GBC) ont sauté sur l’occasion de participer à l’exercice GOLDEN COYOTE 2018 (Ex GC18).
Le 28 juin 2018

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à New Westminster, en Colombie-Britannique, le 1er avril 1910, lorsque le 104th Regiment fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : 104th Regiment Westminster Fusiliers of Canada le 15 décembre 1913. Le 12 mars 1920, il se fusionna avec le 6th Regiment The Duke of Connaught's Own Rifles et fut baptisé le 1st British Columbia Regiment.

Il fut rebaptisé le 1st British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own) le 1er novembre 1920. Le 15 mai 1924, il fut réorganisé en trois régiments distincts, baptisés : 1st British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own) (aujourd'hui, le British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own ); The Vancouver Regiment (aujourd'hui, le The British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own) ; et The Westminster Regiment.

Poursuivez la lecture : The Royal Westminster Regiment

Date de modification :